Infusion changes….

This morning I had the “pleasure” of changing the site of my infusion set.  Can you appreciate the sarcasm?  Yeah, one poke every 3 days is better than 3 pokes daily, but it still hurts – especially if you hit a capillary underneath your skin!  Ouch! 

Anyway, today I changed that bad boy.  I had to attend a training class for my job so I made sure that I brought my glucometer and some snacks so my head wouldn’t hit the keyboard….

During the class my stomach felt a little “off” so I thought it might have been the stale coffee I drank a little earlier.  During our break, I tested my blood and it was 268.  Not necessarily too worrisome but I set my insulin pump to give me a bolus (mealtime/snacktime insulin) and ate the animal crackers that I brought with me. 

When I was let out of class around 10:45 am, I prepared myself for lunch since I would immediately be eating it when I got back to the office.  335!  Whoa!  What happened?  Again, I set my pump for my “normal” lunchtime bolus of 75 carbohydrates since I normally eat the same thing for lunch everyday during the week. 

Fast forward 3 hours to approximately 2:00pm.  I felt a little loopy, out-of-sorts, spacey.  I tested my blood and it said that my sugar was 47.  Holy drop!  I quickly went and grabbed orange juice and crackers and hoped for the best.  As I write this, my sugar is now 78 and where it should be, but what a scare!  I will have to now test about once an hour until I eat dinner tonight and make sure I can make it through my graduate class this evening without any of my classmates or professors calling 911 or doing CPR. 

The moral of this story:  this is something that I probably go through almost every single time I change my infusion site.  Just another something diabetics go through….and completely “normal” at that (as normal as normal can be).

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Infusion changes….

  1. You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I
    find this matter to be actually one thing that I believe I might never understand.

    It seems too complex and extremely vast for me.
    I am having a look ahead on your next post, I will attempt to
    get the hang of it!

  2. domy z bali says:

    Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, great blog!

  3. My relatives always say that I am killing my time here at
    web, except I know I am getting experience daily by
    reading such pleasant posts.

Leave a Reply

