Things Diabetics HATE Hearing….

“Should you be eating that?”  Seriously, people.  We hate it.  I don’t ask obese people if they should be eating burgers and fries. 

“So you have Diabetes because why?  You’re overweight?”  Not everyone gets diabetes because of his or her weight.  I was blessed enough to get it because I’m lucky enough to have a pancreas that pooped out when I was 10! 

“Why is your purse so heavy?”  Well, because I need to carry my meter, strips, an extra bottle of insulin, a syringe, lancets, alcohol wipes, and extra insulin pump supplies with me at all times.  That’s why my purse is so heavy.  What’s your excuse? 

“Does it hurt?”  After awhile the pokes and pricks hurt less, but only because your fingers and injection sites have become numb!

“Sure.  I’ll donate money for your walk.  Remind me.”  Really?  My weekly emails aren’t enough of a reminder?  Let’s see it then.  Words mean nothing.  Show me the money!  Even $5 goes a long way!  If you don’t plan on giving me anything, don’t say anything at all!  I will remember and when it comes time for your donations and fundraising for your kids, see if I’m so giving. 

“Can we meet for dinner around 7? 7:30? 8?”  No, I’m sorry, but I can’t eat that late.  My metabolism gets off because of my diabetes and if I eat that late, I won’t digest properly.  So can we meet at that restaurant at 5:30 or 6 so I’m eating by 6:30 or 7?  Actually, it’s better for you, too.  No one should be eating at bedtime, except for maybe babies. 

“So if you’re low, I should give you insulin?”  Did you just listen to yourself?  Does that make any sense.  If my sugar is low and I’m getting obnoxious, sweaty, and passing out, give me JUICE & Graham Crackers ASAP! 

“If you’re high, should I give you juice?”  See above for how ridiculous you sound.  If I’m high, grab that really heave purse I mentioned earlier and give me a poke of a needle full of insulin. 

I know there’s more that bothers us, but this is all I can think of right now.

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things Diabetics HATE Hearing….

  1. Mommabetic says:

    Hey I just found you! I’m new here and run a diabetic mom blog of my own. I have type 2, but I really do enjoy reading other diabetic’s daily stories, as it helps me come to terms with what I will have to deal with.

  2. Brilliant post! I’ve actually just written a post about how I thought a lot of people got to grips with what it’s all about pretty well, but this really highlights those people that don’t!

Leave a Reply

