Invisible….

Oftentimes we think that Diabetes is an invisible disease, because you really can’t see it; it has no physical characteristics to the naked eye, unless someone is experiencing an extremely symptomatic low blood sugar.  I am going to show you that it really is not invisible.  There are a lot of diabetes-related things I can show you and they are all on my own body. This is probably also the most intimate post you will ever see from me.

Let’s start with my insulin pump that I need to wear on my body every day, all day: 2013-02-20_09-47-30_421

Looks like a pager (whom no one uses anymore except those in the medical field) but is, in fact, my acting pancreas since mine is, well, dead. 

Next we have the tubing that goes from the pump into me: 2013-02-20_09-47-46_532

Which leads to my infusion site (which essentially saves my life everyday by giving me insulin): 2013-02-20_07-30-29_121

006

This all seems fine and dandy, until we get to the nitty-gritty. Because of using a pump for 12 years, I have marks on my skin from the canulas of the infusion sets: 2013-02-20_07-30-14_589

007

005

Then we have the “lines” left on my body when the tubing has been pressed against my skin for too long (I love the squiggle): 004

These red bumps and skin irritations are uncomfortable, itchy, and make me want to scream when they get really irritating, but when I get blood sugar results like this: 2013-01-22_07-38-51_692 , it makes it all worth it in the end!

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

