Damn Pizza!

image

This is what happens when I eat pizza! Almost every time, no matter how little of it I eat and no matter how large a dose of insulin I take. Why? Because there are approximately 50 grams of carbohydrate in every 1 ounce of pizza! A slice of pizza is approximately 470 ounces. 50 x 470 = 23,500 carbohydrates in 1 SLICE OF PIZZA! I won’t even get in to the calories and fat! Why do I go so high? Because the maximum amount of insulin that my pump allows is 25 units before a meal (which is approximately 200 carbs if my sugar were a perfect 100 which is approximately 23,200 less than 1 SLICE OF PIZZA!!!). So, please, whatever you do, if you have me over for dinner, please have another option available for me to eat besides pizza! Diabetics everywhere will thank you for it!

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Damn Pizza!

  1. And this is a plain, cheese slice….not including any additional toppings!

  2. melanie says:

    Pizza is my son’s favorite and it really throws him off. I dread giving it to him. I second-handedly feel your pain….

Leave a Reply

