Welcome to my journey…

I just finished course work at Nazareth College of Rochester (NY) for the Master of Arts in Liberal Studies program. However, I still need to finish my thesis/capstone work in order to receive that all-powerful degree! When I was first trying to decide what to do my thesis on, I had various thoughts. I love 1980s music, and thought about somehow encapsulating the songs from that decade into a paper and how much society has changed (or not changed) much from thirty years ago based on music. I also thought about doing a family tree project (which I am still going to pursue, just not for my thesis!). After speaking to the program director, Monica Weis, we decided to go in the direction that I would be writing about my own life and how having diabetes does/does not define me as a person. Some of the questions I am hoping to answer are as follows:

1: How has childhood diagnoses changed the way I have matured as a person?
2: How does a childhood diagnosis affect one socially, economically, psychologically, etc.?
3: What do I want adolescent and adult type 1 diabetics to learn from me?

These are just a few examples of what I will be working on. As this thesis progresses, the next few entries I post in here will probably be some excerpts of my life with diabetes (times I’ve been in the hospital, severe low blood sugars, funny stories, etc.) but I will try to be as witty and non-depressing as possible. After all, I am hoping that by using this blog as an accompaniment to my thesis and my personal tales of living with diabetes that it turns into a memoir and/or autobiography so other adolescents can read my book after their own diagnosis and know that they are not alone in this fight! With the help of my thesis advisor, Ann Coon, I hope you will continue to read my blog as you have been (welcome if you’re just starting now!) and enjoy what you are reading. Welcome to my journey!

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

