What I have learned….

I mentioned in a prior post that I am writing my grad school thesis about diabetes and my own personal journey with it. My thesis advisor proposed a question to me in the early stages of my writing and I believe that, after having written my memories about having a childhood marred by diabetes, I can finally share her question and my answer with you.

The question was similar (though not exact) to: “What do you hope to learn/gain from writing about your life with diabetes as it relates to the Master of Arts in Liberal Studies (MALS) program?”

I have learned that I should never judge someone until I know more about the person, the situation, the illness, etc.

I have learned that my mind is open to anything!

I have learned that talents go beyond artistic and creative abilities. Talent is sharing; sharing stories, experiences, life events, thoughts, intimate details. Anything can be a talent in the eyes of those willing to see it. My talents: sharing my stories about diabetes with those reading this blog, using my stories to educate others, allowing you to ride along with me on my journey of Learning, Living, and Loving Life, Diabetes Style!

While the last is a difficult talent for me to share, I needed to do this to accept that even though I have Type 1 Diabetes, I love my life! I will no longer take it (or the care for my disease) for granted.

Fingers crossed and God’s will be done!

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I have learned….

  1. Maria says:

    Wow, you’re becoming another Mary – sharing your story! Good for you.

Leave a Reply

