When there is nowhere to “rest”…

I recently posted that I am taking time away from my insulin pump. With this being said, I now have to remove myself from the table when it is time to take an injection when I am out in public. It’s easy to test under the table, but not so easy to discreetly hide taking a shot. Normally, I inject at a table when I’m with adults. Last night, however, I was with my young niece and nephew and wanted to hide this from them. I was out to eat with them and their mother and excused myself to the restroom so I could test my blood sugar and take my injection of Novolog. Unfortunately, when I stepped into one of the bathroom stalls, I found no shelf on the wall where I could place my items. (A future post will show exactly what all these items are). So, I did the next best thing. I went out near the sink to see if there was somewhere I could place my tester and my bag full of supplies. The only place to do this was on the vanity near the sinks or a changing table. I chose option one, the vanity. Unfortunately, the counter was wet and there was not much space between the wall and the sink since I chose to stay towards the end so others could wash their hands. I picked the wrong time to use the bathroom. When I went to test, someone came out of the stall. I tried to be discreet as possible but someone needed to use the sink on the side I was closest to and I forewent testing my blood sugar because there was a huge invasion of space and my patience was tested by this point. I “guesstimated” how much insulin to take and just went with it. I stepped back into one of the stalls and injected my insulin. I find it extremely frustrating when there is either no shelf in the stall or a flat surface to use. If you or anyone you know owns a restaurant, please make sure these options are available. Would you rather we test and inject in the privacy of the bathroom stall or out in the open of the restaurant floor where people can see us and turn us in for “inappropriate” activity (it’s been done; not to me, but to others). And if you’re a diabetic living in Rochester, NY and go to the Olive Garden in Henrietta, don’t say you weren’t warned!

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When there is nowhere to “rest”…

  1. Pingback: When there is nowhere to “rest”… | julietalksdiabetes

  2. Gotta take care of yourself first and foremost. My advice is to worry less about what others might think when you do your testing or injecting: be T1 and proud!! Don’t compromise your diabetes integrity.
    I have never been one to “hide” my diabetes, T1 since the age of 10, and have always had to carry a “he purse” of some kind with all my gear. I can totally relate to seeking a shelf, ledge, table or something else horizontal to test on, and it’s definitely a pain when one can’t be found.
    Anyhow, enough rambling, good luck with your thesis, cool topic!!

Leave a Reply

