True Story, Part 2…CONTINUED…

I had some important feedback about my post from two weeks ago. My friend Art (read his Guest Blog here: https://julietalksdiabetes.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/guest-blog-spina-bifida-diabetes-by-arthur-l-aston/) asked me why my blog posts are so short.

Here is the conversation that occurred after:

Art: Why are your blog posts so short? I always want to read more.

Me: Thanks for the feedback. I am not sure. Sometimes I just have nothing else to say. Sometimes I think if I put too much it will make it too confusing for non-diabetics.

Art: You’re welcome. Being that I am not a diabetic I end up having questions. That’s why you have to explain it. Like with your post today (https://julietalksdiabetes.wordpress.com/2014/02/04/true-story-part-2/), I want to know, why don’t you wipe with an alcohol pad? I’ve been catheterizing my bladder through my belly button since I was 14 and I can’t tell you the last time I sterilized the area.

Me: Well, why don’t you? 😉

I guess I don’t because:

A) Too much extra time
B) “1 more thing to do”
C) I know I’m clean
D) Didn’t do it once and nothing happened so figured it was safe
E) No one else uses my needles

Ah, this might be the start of my next post…..

Art: I’m just about being open on my blog. Not saying you have to be on yours. But like I said, when I read your posts I often find myself having more questions because you didn’t explain it. It’s like a cliffhanger!

I don’t do it because of A, B, and C. I’ve had one bladder stone in 18 years, so I must be doing something right considering some have them every few months or once a year. Plus I protect my catheters and keep them clean.

Me: Exactly. We must be doing something right. I get what you’re saying though. I’m going to expand this week’s using this convo as a guideline for my next post….And you can ask me anytime about anything that leaves you hanging.

So, I ask you all: if there is ever a time when something doesn’t make sense or there is a question or a “cliffhanger” moment, please speak up so I can elaborate and answer any questions. The reason for this blog is to not just commiserate with other diabetics, but to also educate others in the community.

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

