Oxymoron?!?

The pictures below are scans of a newsletter that was sent to me via my local insurance company. It’s titled “Understanding Diabetes.” It was mailed along with an Explanation of Benefits (EOB) in regards to my deductible insurance plan stating how much I would owe for prescriptions and appointments after the insurance company’s payment and that a bill would be mailed to me shortly thereafter. I actually chuckled/smirked when I saw this. Obviously the insurance company knows I have diabetes. They can tell just by looking at the claims for my medications, my lab tests, and my appointments.

“What is Diabetes?”, “There are two major types of diabetes,” and “Did you know?” are 3 of the headers on this information sheet. What is Diabetes? Well, it’s an auto-immune disease that I live with every single day. I have good days and bad days with it. I have highs and lows. And then they make the comment “being overweight and lack of exercise can be a cause” of diabetes. Um, not in my case, insurance company! I’d really like to know who’s responsible for saying these types of letters should go in the mail with the Explanations of Benefits. Even though I found it a bit offensive, I can’t help but laugh at it now. Why don’t you mail something that is more generic for all of your insurance company policy holders? For example, an information sheet about healthy eating since that would benefit EVERYONE!

BlogPost2

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

