Thankful?

I have an issue with Thanksgiving Day. Don’t get me wrong, I fully believe we should give thanks for everything we have, spend time with our family and friends, and thank God for the blessings he has bestowed on all of us, and the freedoms we have. However, I hate Thanksgiving food! As a diabetic, it’s about the worst holiday to even try to remotely eat healthy. Certain members of my family are the “meat and potatoes” type of people so the mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes and stuffing MUST be served because we have to make people happy! But here’s why, as a diabetic, I don’t like Thanksgiving:

Mashed Potatoes: 1 cup = 35g of carbs
Stuffing: 1 cup = 44g of carbs
Pumpkin Pie: 1 slice = 41g of carbs
Sweet Potato: 1 medium-sized = 24g of carbs
Brown & Serve Dinner Roll: 1 = 13g of carbs
(Source: http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/)

Grand Total: 157g of carbs and that’s if I only eat the serving size listed above! This isn’t even including all of the “hidden” carbs and additional food items that are on the table. This simply diagrams the basics. Don’t forget the cranberry, soup, vegetables, etc (whatever you and yours decides to cook). This is 157g of carbs for 1 meal! That’s approximately 5 meals worth of carbohydrates!

Every year I ask for healthier alternatives and every year I hear: “Well, what about X, what about Y, what about Z? And you know A, B, and C won’t eat that!”

Sigh, the exclusion continues…

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment