2015 Year in Review

Did you miss me?  I know, I know.  It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything.  But just because I wasn’t blogging about diabetes, doesn’t mean I wasn’t actively participating in anything diabetes related.

It was a brutally cold winter here in the Northeast last year, but luckily my diabetes was  not affected by it.

In April, I attended a DiabetesSisters Leadership Conference in Raleigh, NC.  It was a program that allowed various leaders of PODS (Part of DiabetesSisters) from all parts of the country to come together to exchange ideas and best practices for leading a room full of women with diabetes to be the best they can be while living with a chronic illness.  For more information about DiabetesSisters, please visit http://www.diabetessisters.org.

Over the summer, I learned about a conference that occurs in Las Vegas, NV.  The Diabetes UnConference, as a matter of fact.  While I applied for a scholarship to attend that I did not receive, I decided to attend anyway and registered for it with my own money.  Why not take a little vacation while attending an “unconference?”  Shortly after paying my attendance fee, I found out that some of the women I’ve met through DiabetesSisters will be attending as well!  You can find out more about the Diabetes UnConference here:  http://diabetesunconference.com/

In September, Anna Norton, DiabetesSisters CEO, attended a PODS meeting in my hometown.  It was great to see her again and it was also a wonderful opportunity for the local Sisters to meet Anna.  She shared some of her own personal diabetes-related stories and spoke of what she hopes to accomplish in the future under her realm at DiabetesSisters.

In November, I participated in a 21-Day Cleanse sponsored by Kelly Schmidt, RD and my blood sugar numbers were better than they’ve been in years.  I discovered that a high-protein diet works really well for me and I’ll be incorporating some of the diet tips that I learned in the new year.  Read more about Kelly and her Paleo-infused plans here:  http://www.paleoinfused.com/.  I also participated in the T1D Looks Like Me campaign on social media.  Every day I posted a diabetes fact, tidbit, or refuted myth using various sources from Project Blue November (http://www.projectbluenovember.com/)

In December, I received an email from Anna asking me to call her as soon as possible.  I thought I was in trouble from the boss!  It turns out that Anna was calling to offer me the cost of airfare to Las Vegas for the Diabetes UnConference I had already planned to attend!  I could go as a representative of DiabetesSisters!  Of course, I accepted.

And while I didn’t do as well with my overall diabetes management as I had hoped, I did manage to lower my A1c a whole number from October of 2014 to October of 2015.  I’m due for another checkup next week.

Even though I wasn’t blogging, blog ideas kept popping up wherever I turned.  They are all scribbled down on a post-it note.  Future blogs to come!  Stay tuned!  I promise not to disappoint.

About julietalksdiabetes

Telling the daily struggles of living with Type I Diabetes for those who wish to commiserate or for those who just don't understand.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015 Year in Review

  1. Miss Mary says:

    Go Jules!!!  You are an inspiration!  Rock on, girly!!  Wishing you a Happy and Healthy 2016!!!   Mary H. WuEmail: mwu82@yahoo.comPhone:   917-968-8856Website: http://www.thewuway.comBecome a life-saving organ donor: http://www.donatelife.netBuy the book “Confessions of a Kidney Transplant Recipient” Today! Buy the Kindle/E-Book version of “Confessions of a Kidney Transplant Recipient” Today!   

     

    From: julietalksdiabetes To: mwu82@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, January 7, 2016 7:08 PM Subject: [New post] 2015 Year in Review #yiv4775810788 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4775810788 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4775810788 a.yiv4775810788primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4775810788 a.yiv4775810788primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4775810788 a.yiv4775810788primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4775810788 a.yiv4775810788primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4775810788 WordPress.com | julietalksdiabetes posted: “Did you miss me?  I know, I know.  It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything.  But just because I wasn’t blogging about diabetes, doesn’t mean I wasn’t actively participating in anything diabetes related.It was a brutally cold winter here in the” | |

Leave a Reply

